truth vs. fiction

Truth is better than fiction.
Huh? What?
It took me a while to realize what this meant, too.

We were studying Psalms 139 and focused on the first six verses:
“You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.” Psalm 139:1-6 NIV

I had read this chapter of Psalms before and in fact had dissected it pretty well. My Bible was chalked full of handwritten notes I made about this chapter. Though tonight when we read it, new ideas about this chapter were presented.

This section of scripture simply describes how all knowing our God is. He knows our words before they’re spoken. He knows our movements before we put them into action. He knows. He knows. He knows. He is an omniscient God. We began to talk about how amazing our God is and how He knows each of our needs, each of our petty thoughts, and each of our struggles. We discussed how no matter how small or how big our problems, He is always there. We discussed how our God created the universe and all of its entirety. We discussed how God has his signature on each flower, bird, and creation on this Earth.

Amongst the discussion, someone made the point that, “truth is better than fiction.” I was initially confused on the statement. But when you think about it, this is one of the most truthful and amazing statements. We read fiction, we hear fiction, and we watch fiction. We visualize these fictional places and are in awe of their magnificence. We indulge on fiction, when actually, truth is way better. Look around you, take it all in. Sit for five minutes and take it all in. This is what we should be in awe of. Each leaf, each person, and speck of dirt was created by our all knowing God. He simply spoke it all into existence. He simply said, “Let there by light,” and there was light. This is way better than fiction. Wow.

It’s time to stop living in fiction and realize how awesome the world we live in is. It’s time to realize how amazing our omniscient, all knowing God is.

So, truth is better than fiction.

Leave a Reply

