Respect

I got halfway through this original blog post about respect and realized I was making zero sense. I was beating around the bush on what I wan’t to write about. Now that my thoughts are cleared, I shall begin.

There are two types of respect I’d like to talk about in this blog post. (Technically, there aren’t actually types of respect, I just made up these so called “categories”.)
Respect for women.
This type of respect is particularly aimed at the men out there. Actually, that’s exactly who it is aimed at. Especially young men. Respect for women is something that is taken so lightly, especially in high school. Lack of respect for women bothers more than anything else in this world. I cannot stand to walk down the halls of my high school and hear a guy talking about how he just broke up with so and so and now he’s dating this chick, and he doesn’t care how she feels about it. Guys, you can’t just treat women like they are some sort of fair ride. You can’t just hop on for the ride and move on to the next one. Guys must learn to be patient, caring, and loving; respecting a woman is how you earn her heart. Women were literally made from a man. If anything, that should be the reason you respect women. 

Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. – Genesis 2:22″ 

Women must learn to respect women as well; they must learn to respect themselves. So often, I see teenage girls throwing themselves at guys because they want to be “loved.” Don’t worry about that, ladies, our God already loves you enough. He died for you. One of my Facebook friends, Kevin Frisbee, summed up my thoughts so well:

“Girls, I know a lot of you feel upset and frustrated when you see friends getting engaged/married, but know that God’s love is better than any diamond ring. He has an incredible plan for you, and He doesn’t intend for us to walk through life alone. In His timing, you will have your perfect guy, but until then, trust His faithfulness and work on becoming the woman you expect your future husband to honor and love.”

I am so thankful to my parents, my dad especially, for teaching me how to respect a woman.

Respect for God.
This topic is major. Especially today in our society, respect for God is steadily becoming less and less. From people ousting “In God We Trust” to our government amending laws that were built on the principles of God, lack of respect is everywhere. I see this lack of respect often in school. One minute you will hear a student professing their love for God and the next you hear them cussing or doing things that a person who is truly devoted to God would never think of doing. That’s what really bothers me. That is just like walking straight up to God and spitting in his face. God created this Earth; He created all things. We must learn to love, trust, and respect Him.

“Worthy are you, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they existed and were created.” 

I am so thankful to my family for teaching me how to respect all people, including God.

Now, listen closely. I am no guru on respect, these are just my own personal opinions. But I do think they should be taken to heart.

So guys, next time you decide to date that girl, think about the future and think about her feelings; respect her. Girls, wait for love. Respect yourselves.

People of the world, respect God. He deserves it.

Leave a Reply

