Reflections of a high school senior

As my senior year of high school begins to come to a close, it’s time to start making the important decisions for my future. Where will I go to college? What will I study? How much is it going to cost me to attend this college versus this one?

Our entire life, we’ve never really had to make these life-changing decisions. Perhaps, for some of us, the most difficult decision we make is what to have for lunch each day. For however long we’ve been in school, we’ve been ordered around and told we have to ask to go to the bathroom. And now we’re having to make a decision that will change our lives forever.

It’s not easy. Your senior year is not easy. Between the applications and scholarships and trying to keep good grades and a social life and a solid mental state, there’s been days where I thought I was going to have an emotional breakdown right in the middle of class – it might have actually happened once or twice, I can’t really remember.

It may not be easy, but it’s an extraordinary time in our lives. We’re at this stage in our lives that’s so full of growth and opportunity. It’s this stage that no matter if we fail or succeed, we’re going to come out a better person. It’s this stage with such incredible uncertainty. It’s this stage where we have no idea what we’re doing.

But it is a beautiful stage in our lives. It’s this crazy, beautiful stage of our lives. It’s this stage of our lives where we have so much potential to do great things with our lives and in the lives of others.

When I look forward to the future, I have no idea what I’m looking at. I have no idea what my new friends will look like. I have no idea what my future home will look like. I have no idea what my future job will look like. I have no idea what my future relationship will look like. I have absolutely no idea. I’m scared of this uncertainty, but I’m so so so so excited. It’s such an exciting time in our lives.

Ask any senior and they’ll tell you the same thing. We don’t know what the future looks like, and yeah, we’re a little scared. But who isn’t when they’re starting a new chapter of their lives?

With all this uncertainty and unseen future, there is one thing that I can see in all of it. This image that I see when I look to the future is clear and guiding. It is powerful and mighty. It is calming and understanding.

When I look to the future, I see the hand of God guiding me. 

And amongst all of my worry and all of my fear, I’m calm. I look to the future and I see the hand of God guiding me along and I know everything will be okay. I may not know what’s going to happen, but as long as I trust in God, I know it’s going to be okay. And that’s something certain in this time of such uncertainty.

Let God’s hand guide you, my friends. Because in this time of uncertainty, you need guidance. You need His guidance.

I pray for my future, but the future of my fellow classmates, too. I pray for guidance for each of us and that we trust in the Father as we make our way into this great world of unknown.

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore, we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.” – Psalm 46:1-3

Bless and be blessed, y’all.

Leave a Reply

