In Malibu // 06.30 – 07.04.2017

When my roommate Nathan told me that he’d be living and working in Malibu, California, this summer and that he had an open bed, I started making my plans to be there. One way or another, I’d be in California for a couple days this summer.

I strategically planned to take a long weekend off from work in conjunction with the Fourth of July. My planning paid off, and I got to spend three full days and two half days there.

Here are some highlights from my trip.

Turner-2017
Flying Southwest because flying Delta was too expensive. As always, I grabbed the window seat and didn’t complain. The Arizona landscape provided for some great scenery. Southwest, can you just sponsor me now?
Turner-2022
One of our Saturday locations was Santa Monica Pier where we people watched and ate hotdogs.
Turner-2043
Looks like an ad for a freaking surf shop. Geez.
Turner-2045
Nathan’s girlfriend, Peri, was also in town, so I happily took the backseat. Truth is, I like Peri more than I like Nathan.
Turner-2078
We spent Saturday afternoon at Venice Beach where we watched skaters for a solid 20 minutes. Mad props to them.
Turner-2102
A pier view of Venice Beach.
Turner-2117
A pier view of Venice Beach.
Turner-2125
Ok – how could I not stop and take a picture of these guys?!
Turner-2133
Much to my surprise and delight, Malibu is just as mountainous as it is beachy. I was thankful to spend more time in the mountains than on the beach.

We visited many more places than I have pictures of — Hollywood Boulevard, Malibu beaches and towns in the mountains. When I left, I was kind of upset that I didn’t get as many pictures as I had planned. But it also reminded me the importance of being in the moment when I’m visiting somewhere new. I was glad to be in the moment every minute I was in Malibu.

Malibu reminded me that humans are really incredible. In the midst of a sucky summer and longing for the start of the school year, it reminded me that relationships are important and can change your attitude completely. I saw the role of a loving community in my friend and the pure joy that comes from it. I’m thankful for the selfless and sincere people that I met in Malibu, and I hope I’ll see them again soon.

For now, I’m reminded that those types of people and communities are everywhere. And knowing that makes things a lot better.

-K

One thought on “In Malibu // 06.30 – 07.04.2017”

Leave a Reply

